About New Zealand

  1. Home
  2. About New Zealand
New Zealand: New Zealand is an island country in the south-western Pacific Ocean comprising two main landmasses (the North Island and the South Island) and numerous smaller islands, most notably Stewart Island/Rakiura and the Chatham Islands.
Capital: Having an approximate population of 179,446, Wellington is the capital of New Zealand.
Religion: Christianity is the predominant religion of the nation.
Surface: The total land area covered by New Zealand is 268,021 sq km.
Population: The population of the country is about 4,115,771 (July 2007), comprising Europeans, Maori, Asians, Pacific Islanders and others.
System of Government: New Zealand is a parliamentary democracy
Official Language: English and Maori are the official languages.
Government: New Zealand is a parliamentary democracy.
Climate: New Zealand experiences a temperate climate, having sharp regional contrast.
Units of measure and electricity: New Zealand uses the metric system and the electricity unit is 230 V, 50 Hz
Time Zone: Local standard time is GMT + 12 (Day Light Saving Time is GMT + 13).
Currency: 1.00 USD = 1-33723 NZD (Oct 2009)
Travel documents required: Apart from Americans, Canadians, South Africans, Australians, and the Irish, all other nationals require a valid passport and visa.
Economy: New Zealand has a prosperous and well-developed economy with a very high standard of living. The economy is heavily dependent on trade. New Zealand’s key export products include agriculture, horticulture, fishing and forestry. The principal export partners are Australia, the US, China, Japan and the UK.
About New Zealand Education System New Zealand Why Study in New Zealand? Map New Zealand